Home > Uncategorized > Rio Diaz, 45 Yrs Old

Rio Diaz, 45 Yrs Old

rio diaz

Rio Diaz-Cojuangco (born Rosario Diaz, August 14, 1959-October 4, 2004) was a former beauty queen, TV Host and actress born in the Philippines. She was the sister of former Miss Universe Gloria Diaz. Rio was diagnosed with Stage 4 colon cancer in December 1998. She was given three months to live then, but she lived for six more years. She died on October 4, 2004 in Seton Hospital in Daly City, California at the age of only 45.

Rio was the youngest of 12 children born to Jaime Diaz and Teresa Aspillera. She was the sister of Gloria Diaz, Miss Universe 1969. A ramp and commercial model, Rio herself was crowned Mutya ng Pilipinas in 1977 and won fourth runner-up in the Miss Asia pageant that same year. When she and singer Hajji Alejandro became a couple, they left for Los Angeles, California where they operated a small restaurant along Melrose Ave. When things went sour between them, Rio came back to the Philippines and joined showbiz once more. She co-hosted Eat Bulaga in 1991 and stayed for a couple of years before she met Charlie Cojuangco on a blind date in 1993 and got married the following year. She was elected vice mayor of Pontevedra in the May 1998 elections, when Charlie first won a seat in Congress. She became president of the vice mayors’ league in Negros Occidental. During a routine checkup in December 1998, her doctors in the United States informed her of a small growth in her left abdomen. After a six-hour surgery, they found a malignant tumor in its fourth stage. She underwent another operation, and then chemotherapy for three months. In 1999 her oncologist, Dr. George Fisher at Stanford, declared she had been cured. When the cancer cells made a comeback in May 2000, Rio returned to Stanford for another eight-hour surgery, and another round of chemotherapy sessions. In 2002, she stopped the sessions because her body could no longer take it. But late that year, Rio’s doctors said she had no recourse but to do it again.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , ,
  1. April 14, 2013 at 7:02 am | #1

    Howdy! This post could not be written any better!
    Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept preaching about this. I will forward this post to him.
    Fairly certain he’s going to have a great read. Thank you for sharing!

  2. April 15, 2013 at 10:12 pm | #2

    This is a topic that is near to my heart.
    .. Take care! Exactly where are your contact details though?

  3. April 20, 2013 at 5:56 am | #3

    Great blog! Is your theme custom made or did you
    download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple
    adjustements would really make my blog stand
    out. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Kudos

  4. April 20, 2013 at 7:24 am | #4

    Wonderful items from you, man. I have remember your stuff previous to and you are simply extremely magnificent.
    I actually like what you have received right here, really like what
    you are stating and the way in which during which you assert it.
    You make it entertaining and you continue to take care of to keep it smart.

    I can not wait to learn much more from you. This is actually a wonderful website.

  5. April 21, 2013 at 9:30 am | #5

    Thank you, I’ve just been searching for info about this topic for a long time and yours is the greatest I have came upon so far. However, what about the conclusion? Are you certain concerning the supply?

  6. April 21, 2013 at 10:20 am | #6

    I don’t create a ton of comments, however i did some searching and wound up here Rio Diaz, 45 Yrs Old | Famous Pilipino Deaths. And I actually do have some questions for you if it’s allright.

    Is it just me or does it look as if like some of these responses appear like left by brain dead individuals? :-P And, if you are writing on other social sites, I’d like to keep up with everything fresh you have to post. Would you list of every one of your shared sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  7. April 22, 2013 at 10:22 am | #7

    Hi there, all the time i used to check web site posts here early in the break of day,
    since i love to learn more and more.

  8. April 25, 2013 at 2:13 pm | #8

    When some one searches for his necessary thing, therefore he/she wants to be
    available that in detail, therefore that thing is maintained
    over here.

  9. May 2, 2013 at 3:08 pm | #9

    Great goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to
    and you’re just too wonderful. I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it wise. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is actually a tremendous website.

  10. May 2, 2013 at 3:09 pm | #10

    Its not my first time to visit this web page, i am browsing
    this web page dailly and obtain fastidious facts from here everyday.

  11. May 2, 2013 at 5:20 pm | #11

    Every weekend i used to pay a visit this website, as i wish for enjoyment, as this this web site conations genuinely fastidious funny material too.

  12. May 3, 2013 at 5:49 am | #12

    hey there and thank you for your info – I have certainly picked
    up anything new from right here. I did however expertise several technical issues using this website,
    since I experienced to reload the site lots of times previous to I could get it
    to load properly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK?

    Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for much more of your respective fascinating content. Ensure that you update this again very soon.

  13. May 3, 2013 at 6:19 am | #13

    Actually when someone doesn’t know afterward its up to other users that they will help, so here it occurs.

  14. May 3, 2013 at 6:51 am | #14

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to
    a famous blogger if you are not already ;) Cheers!

  15. May 16, 2013 at 6:00 am | #15

    Hurrah, that’s what I was searching for, what a stuff! existing here at this web site, thanks admin of this web site.

  16. May 30, 2013 at 5:17 am | #16

    I simply could not depart your web site prior to suggesting that I really loved the standard information a person provide for your visitors?

    Is gonna be back frequently to inspect new posts

  17. May 30, 2013 at 9:47 am | #17

    What’s up mates, pleasant article and good arguments commented at this place, I am really enjoying by these.

  18. May 31, 2013 at 7:33 am | #18

    Thanks for another informative web site. The place else may
    just I am getting that type of information written in such
    an ideal way? I’ve a project that I am just now operating on, and I have been at the look out for such information.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

